

LAWS GOVERNING ELECTIONS IN NIGERIA SINCE 1914

Election Year	Election	Governing Laws
1920	Lagos Town Council	
1923	Legislative Council	Clifford Constitution, 19221922 (Legislative Council) Order-in-Council
1928	Legislative Council	Clifford Constitution, 19221922 (Legislative Council) Order-in-Council
1933	Legislative Council	Clifford Constitution, 19221922 (Legislative Council) Order-in-Council
1938	Legislative Council	Clifford Constitution, 19221922 (Legislative Council) Order-in-Council
1940, and 1941	Bye-elections into the Legislative Council	Clifford Constitution, 1922, and1922 (Legislative Council) Order-in-Council
1943	Elections were held into two seats of the Legislative Council	 Clifford Constitution, 1922 1922 (Legislative Council) Order-in-Council
1947	Legislative Council	♣ Arthur Richards Constitution, 1946
1951	Western Region House of Assembly	Macpherson Constitution of 1951Election Regulations of 1951
1954	House of Representative & Regional House of Assembly	 Oliver Lyttleton Constitution, 1954 The Election Regulations of 1951¹
1959	Parliamentary Elections	♣ Order-in-Council, 1958,♣ (Electoral Provisions) Order in Council, 1958

¹The Electoral Regulations for election into the central and regional legislatures were in two parts. The first part was the General Regulations under which the elections were conducted while the second part was the Specific Regulations which laid down the procedure for elections in each region of the country.









		♣ The Elections (House of Representatives) Regulations of
		1958.
1960 - 1965	Parliamentary Elections	Republican Constitution, 1960
		Nigeria Electoral (Transitional Provisions) Act of 1961.
		Electoral (Amendment) Act, 1964
1979	Presidential and Parliamentary Elections	♣ 1979 Constitution
		♣ The Electoral Decree 1977
		Federal Electoral Commission Decree 1977
		The Election Tribunals (Appointments) Notice 1979
1983	Presidential and Parliamentary Elections	♣ The 1979 Constitution
		♣ The Electoral Act 1982
		♣ Decree No. 27 of 1987
	Local Government Election	♣ Decree No. 37 of 1987
	Constituent Assembly Election	♣ Decree No. 14 of 1988
1993	Presidential Elections	
	Local Council Elections	 Presidential Election (Basic Constitutional and Transitional)
		Decree No.13 of 1993
1999	General Elections	
		↓ INEC Amendment Decree 1998.
		Transition to Civic Rule (Political Programme) Decree
		1998
		Political Parties Registration and Activities Decree 1998
2003	General Elections	♣ 1999 Constitution
		♣ Electoral Act 2002
2007	General Elections	↓ 1999 Constitution
		♣ Electoral Act, 2006
		Regulations and Guidelines for the Conduct of Elections
		2007
2011	General Elections	1999 Constitution (as amended)
		♣ Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended)
		INEC Regulations and Guidelines for the Conduct of
		Elections, 2011
2015	General elections	↓ 1999 Constitution,







		 Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended) INEC Regulations and Guidelines for the Conduct of Elections, 2015.
2019	General Elections	 1999 Constitution Electoral Act, 2010 (as amended) INEC Regulations and Guidelines for the Conduct of Elections, 2019.







